Home > Awards >

Jiaozhou Bay Bridge, Qingdao City, Shandong Province, China



Jiaozhou Bay Bridge, Qingdao City, Shandong Province, China was awarded the George S. Richardson Medal in 2013 IBC on June 4th , presented for a single, recent outstanding achievement in bridge engineering. Fields of endeavor in this medal may include design, construction, research or education.

The past winners from China during the last five years are as follows:

  • 2012 Nanjing Dashengguan Yangtze River Bridge, Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China
  • 2011 Stonecutters Bridge, Hong Kong, China
  • 2010 Wuhan Tianxingzhou Rail-cum-road Yangtze River Bridge, China
  • 2008 Sutong Bridge, Nangtong City, Jiangsu Province, China

Jiaozhou Bay Bridge (or Qingdao Haiwan Bridge) is a 26.7 km (16.6 mi) long roadway bridge in eastern China's Shandong province, which is part of the 41.58 km (25.84 mi) Jiaozhou Bay Connection Project. As of December 2012, Guinness World Records lists the Jiaozhou Bay Bridge as the world's "longest bridge over water (aggregate length)" at 41.58 km (25.84 mi). The Guinness title will be challenged by the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge, currently under construction and scheduled to be opened in 2016 with an aggregate 50.0 km (31.1 mi) of bridges and tunnels.

Edited by Nessy Liu. Photo from Xinhua Net.

Marketplace Links
 Coming soon
Coming soon
Buy a link now>
Contact Us  |   Terms & Condition of Use   |  Job  |  Awards  |  Advertise   |  Events
Copyright @ 2011 - 2012 BRIDGE MAGAZINE All Rights Reserved